Moritz Polter

Executive Producer & Managing Director Windlight Pictures

In June 2021 award-winning executive producer Moritz Polter launched the Munich based premium scripted label Windlight Pictures with ITV Studios. 

Previously, as Executive Producer International Television Series at Bavaria Fiction, Moritz led the creation, development and funding for international drama co-productions such as Arctic Circle (Elisa Viihde/ZDF), Freud (Netflix/ORF) and the critically acclaimed and award-winning high-end drama series Das Boot (Sky), being heavily involved in all creative aspects of the series as non-writing showrunner. Sold to more than 100 territories worldwide, including Hulu in the US, Das Boot, starring Tom Wlaschiha, Vicky Krieps, Franz Dinda, Lizzy Caplan and many more, quickly became the most successful Sky Original series ever for Sky Deutschland, as well as being the highest-rated launch of a non-Italian Sky Original for Sky in Italy, and the most successful non-English Sky Original series ever for Sky in the UK. 

Named among Variety’s Top 10 Global Creatives to Watch in 2018, Moritz has won accolades like the ROMY Award for Best Producer TV-Fiction for Freud and the Magnolia Award Best Foreign TV Film/Miniseries for Das Boot.

A Business, Media and Film Studies graduate of King Alfred’s College in Winchester and a true anglophile, Moritz Polter’s career has involved numerous creative collaborations in the UK. He was the producer of Tandem Productions’ drama Spotless, a Netflix Original in the UK, which was written by Ed McCardie, filmed in London and starred UK actors including Brendan Coyle, Miranda Raison and Liam Garrigan. He also produced Kate Mosse’s Labyrinth starring John Hurt, Tom Felton, Jessica Brown Findlay, Sebastian Stan and Vanessa Kirby, and was Production Supervisor on Ken Follett’s Primetime Emmy winning and Golden Globe nominated miniseries Pillars of the Earth starring Eddie Redmayne, Ian McShane, Hayley Atwell, Matthew Macfadyen and Sarah Parish. 

Moritz Polter is a BAFTA member, a regular jury member of the International Emmy Awards and Rockie Awards at Banff World Media Festival and a frequent speaker at industry events.

IMDB Profile